The Art of Story Telling with Sahara Longe

Kings Davis
3 min readOct 26, 2021

October 2021 marked the 1–54 Contemporary Art Fair’s ninth consecutive year at Somerset House in London UK. Touria El Glaoui is the Founding Director of the international fair which takes place in London, New York and Marrakech every year. Touria was listed amongst the most powerful women in Africa by June Afrique magazine in 2015, 2018 and 2019. I have huge admiration for Touria’s achievements.

The fair draws reference to the fifty-four countries that constitute the African continents, has 47 international galleries representing a selection of the leding contemporary artists from Africa and its diaspora. It is a show case for the work of more than 150 emerging and established artists, one of those being Sahara Longe.

Sahara Longe with her self-portrait at Somerset House 14.10.21

Sahara was awarded a scholarship to the Charles H Cecil Studios in Florence and hosted one of the most outstanding show’s at this year’s fair. Sahara work includes nude studies and oil portraits, painted from life, memory and imagination. The ‘Fall of Man’ was Sahara’s first solo exhibition hosted by Ed Cross Fine Art. Having noticed subject matter of identity and other themes, I wanted to find out more about Sahara’s practice.

The ‘Fall of Man’ is your first solo presentation — how and why did you arrive at that title?

The Fall of Man was the first painting I finished and thought I’m ready to show my work to the public, so it holds a very special place in my heart. It took three months to complete and gave me a new round confidence with my work.

Who and what has influenced your painting and practice so far?
Mainly looking at other artists, dead and alive. But I love storytelling which I try and tell subtly in the paintings.

There is an increasing effort for galleries and the art establishment to recognise and acknowledge often marginalised artists including those of the African diaspora. How imprtant is this to you and what more can be done?

It’s very Important as I think for years so many artists where swept under the rug and dismissed. I think 154 is crucial for bringing these voices forward. It would be nice to see more grants and money spent in the diaspora and encouragement in the Arts.

What have been the biggest challenges for you as an artist?

Learning to paint ! And having the confidence to show work, there is so much fantastic work that we see everyday on Instagram and in galleries and it can feel very disheartening when you are already struggling , but the best thing I did was slowly start showing people my work and it gave me a lot more confidence in painting in general hearing the responses.

What did you think of 1–54 Art Fair 2021 and did you get a chance to look around?

I think I went around about 5 times! Its such a fantastic mix and I love that because it represents Africa in general. I loved seeing so many artists that work that I’d been following on Instagram during the pandemic and also getting to meet them and talk about their work!

Sahara Longe lives and works in London, England. In October 2021 Sahara started attending the Palazzo Monti Residency. Sahara’s paintings are in several important collections in the UK and the USA including those of Josef Vascovitz and Linda Goodman, Hannah Rothschild and Simon Nixon. (Ed Cross Fine Art)

Please do not use or reproduce these images on websites, blog or any other media without my explicit permission. Thank you:)

--

--

Kings Davis

Kings is a photographer, artist and publisher. Kings is currently an Associate Lecturer at UAL and published his first book 'Flip the Script ' in 2011.